Think, Fast, Pray, Read and Do “IT” (Part VII)

book of Jobglasses on Bible

What did Job mean when he said, “My ears had heard of You [God] but now my eyes have seen you. Therefore I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes” (Job 42:5-6)? Bible scholars believe that the Book of Job is the oldest book of the Bible. It was written before the Ten Commandments were given, yet God gave man a sense of right and wrong. Job did have some kind of relationship with God because he never followed his wife’s advice: “Are you still holding on to your integrity? Curse God and die!” (Job 2:9). The Bible says, in all of his suffering “Job did not sin in what he said” (Job 210b). [That tells me that it is okay to be angry and scream at God. He can take it and use it for good.] Job had a relationship with God, but it was all about the “dos and don’ts.” In doing the right things, Job was spotless in his own estimation. Job was “blameless and upright; he feared God and shunned evil” (Job 1:1b). Yes, Job did all the right things he heard he should do, but he lacked one thing. Job was not a humble man. He thought of himself as blameless before God. He saw all that he had and believed it was all a result of his own righteousness, his own hard work and his own ingenuity. He even said the right things, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the Name of the LORD be praised” (Job 1:21).

footprints in the sanddifficulties

A person, like Job, can DO the right things and SAY the right words and live a godly life, and still not SEE who God is. It is only when we SEE ourselves as sinners, that we are able to finally SEE the Almighty God. We realize that He is the only One, filled with POWER and GRACE and TRUTH, Who can forgive us and make us whole. God has indeed forgiven us and has made us whole, through His Son Jesus Christ. Because of Christ’s death on the cross, we have a right relationship with God. When we finally realize and SEE Who God really is and His gracious Gift of forgiveness, how can we not bow down and worship Him?

“CAST all your anxieties on Him [Jesus] because He cares for you” (I Peter 5:7).

confessiona. praying hands

PRAY AND READ:

C= Confession (continued from Part VI): Dear Lord Jesus, without Your grace “all [my] righteous acts are like filthy rags” (Isaiah 64:6b), compared to Your Righteousness. Forgive me for my pride and shortsightedness in dealing with people who don’t understand my disability. Help me Lord, to respond to them with Your kindness and grace. I pray, “Glorious Father,…give [me] the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that [I] may [want to] know [Christ] better. I pray also that the EYES of [my] heart may be enlightened in order that [I] may know the hope to which [Christ] has called [me], the riches of His glorious inheritance in the saints, and His incomparably great power for us who believe” (Ephesians 1:17b-19). I confess that this is not always my top priority. I often want a taste of heaven NOW. Forgive me for my impatience. Thank You, dear Father, for Your infinite mercy and patience with me and for your endless forgiveness and grace bestowed on me because of Your Righteous Son Jesus Christ, in Whose Name I pray. Amen.

WORSHIPjesus as high priest

A= Adoration (continued from Part VI): In the Book of Revelation, the Apostle John gives us a glimpse of what the worship of God is like in heaven and what it will be like when Christ returns to the earth:

chrismas gold, incense and myrrhcrown

“Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under their wings. Day and night they never stopped saying: ‘Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, Who was, and is, and is to come.’ Whenever the living creatures give glory, honor, and thanks to Him Who sits on the throne and Who lives for ever and ever, the twenty-four elders fall down before Him who lives for ever and ever. They lay their crowns before the throne and say: ‘You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for You created all things, and by Your will they were created and have their being’” (Revelation 4:8-11).

handel's messiahAngels at God's Throne

“And when [the Lamb] had taken [the scroll], the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders fell down before the Lamb [Jesus]. Each one had a harp and they were holding golden bowls of incense, which were the prayers of the saints [our prayers]. And they sang a new song: ‘You are worthy to take the scroll and to open its seals, because You were slain, and with Your Blood You purchased men for God from every tribe and language and people and nation. You have made them to be a kingdom and priests to serve our God, and they will reign on the earth’” (Revelation 5:8-10).

“Then I looked and heard the voice of many angels, numbering thousands upon thousands, and ten thousand times ten thousand. They encircled the throne and the living creatures and elders. In a loud voice they sang: ‘Worthy is the Lamb, Who was slain, to receive power and wealth and wisdom and strength and honor and glory and praise!’ Then I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and on the sea, and all that is in them, singing; ‘To Him Who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be praise and honor and glory and power, for ever and ever!’ The four living creatures said, ‘Amen,’ and the elders fell down and worshiped” (Revelation 5:11-14).

jesus as kingJesus in the cloudsjesus on the throne

“After this I [John] looked and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and in front of the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands. And they cried out in a loud voice: ‘Salvation belongs to our God, Who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb’” (Revelation 7:9-10).

“All the angels were standing around the throne and around the elders and the four living creatures. They fell down on their faces before the throne and worshiped God, saying: ‘Amen! Praise and glory and wisdom and thanks and honor and power and strength be to our God for ever and ever. Amen!’” (Revelation 7:11-12).

So, I say, let’s get practicing!

image0IMG_1956

A Child of the King,

Lydia

Leave a Reply

