An Anatomy of a Blog Post

oregon 412oregon 420

(If anyone is not getting the photos on my blog posts, go down to the very bottom of the post and click onto my blog link below, where it says, Trouble clicking?: https://lydslookonlife.wordpress.com etc. It has been said “A picture is worth a thousand words.” Without photos, my posts would be even longer than they already are!)

This is how I write a post for “Lyd’s Look on Life”:

a nap with Tannin

Before I start typing anything, I pray for ideas of what to write about and for a catchy title and “hook” [introduction). I already have a long list of topics to write about, but I ask the Lord for His perfect timing in which topic I write about next. Sometimes, I pray with my eyes closed, during a “Purrer Nap” with my cat Tannin. Other times, I may pray while enjoying the great outdoors and experiencing the beauty and power of God’s creation. For example, when I visit Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, I experience God’s beauty on the Bridge of Flowers. I think of how it was like before the Fall of Man, before sin entered the world (Genesis 3). God made the world for mankind to spend time with Him and to partner with Him to take care of His creation and to use his/her own God-given creativity to make thousands of kinds of beautiful flowers and plants and trees for food and for esthetic enjoyment.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????

“Now the LORD God had planted a garden in the east, in Eden; and there He put the man He had formed. And the LORD God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground – trees that were pleasing to the eye and good for food…The LORD God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it” (Genesis 2:8-9a,15).

Adam was the first botanist, as well as the first taxonomist. God made the animals and asked Adam to name them in Genesis 2:19-20. God then made a “suitable helper” (Genesis 2: 18) for Adam, a woman he named Eve. In Genesis 2:18, 20 the word “suitable” (kenegdo*) denotes equality and adequacy. The word “helper” (ezer*) used to describe Eve, in Genesis 2:18, is the same word that refers to God in most instances in the Old Testament. For example: “I lift my eyes to the hills – where does my HELP come from? My HELP comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth” (Psalm 121:1-2). Also, Genesis 1:27 reads, “So God made man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.” God made Adam and Eve equal partners to enjoy fellowship with Him and gave them the job of caring for His creation. And “God blessed them and said, ‘Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air and every living creature that moves on the ground’” (Genesis 1:28)

IMG_1967IMG_1951

When I’m on the “Bridge of Flowers” God gives me a glimpse of how Adam and Eve had it “made in the shade!” Why would they want anything more? They wanted more for exactly the same reason we want more: They wanted to be their own boss and know everything without God telling them what to do. They believed the serpent when he said God was holding out on them and there was more to have than what God had given them. God gave everything to Adam and Eve, but He told them, “You are free to eat from any tree in the garden; but you must not eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, for when you eat of it you will surely die” (Genesis 2:16b-17). God’s instructions were clear, but Adam and Eve listened to the serpent (Satan) and his lies: “Did God really say, ‘You must not eat from any tree in the garden?…You will not surely die…For God knows that when you eat of it [the tree of the knowledge of good and evil] your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil’” (Genesis 3:1b, 4a, 5). So, Adam and Eve chose to believe Satan and sin entered the world and made life difficult and burdensome and ultimately end in death. Most of all, sin broke the fellowship and partnership between God and mankind (See Genesis 3).

dam 2troubled waters

After spending time on the Bridge of Flowers, I usually go to the Glacier Potholes, a few blocks away. We walk [or roll] from an example of God’s beauty and creativity, expressed in all the different kinds of flowers, to an example of God’s power and grace, in the rushing Deerfield River and the mosaic-like marbling on the rocks, formed by the power of the rushing water. The Glacier Potholes remind me that God’s power is stronger than Satan’s might. God uses His power to bring us back to Him by the power of Jesus’ Resurrection. Like the Apostle Paul, “I want to know Christ and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, becoming like Him in death, and so, somehow attain the resurrection from the dead” (Philippians 3:10-11). In the same way the mighty currents of the rushing river destroys everything in its path and also creates beautifully marbled rocks, Jesus is able to take our sins and sufferings and turn our lives into a beautiful mosaic with His resurrection power and by His matchless grace.

gospelsempty tomb

After a few days of praying about what God has shown me in His creation and through the reading of His Word, I begin doing my research by “googling” the topic I want to write about. I “google” definitions of words, the history behind the topic, Scripture references, find photos to go along with the topic and I even use real books and Bible study notes from my bookshelves and files. Once I get everything together, on my bed and little table and computer desk, and get the lighting just right, I am ready to write. The typing takes two five-hour days or longer (depending on the number of bathroom visits I have to make) and one three-hour day to proof-read and plug in the photos. Plugging in the photos is the part that‘s really fun for me. Sometimes, I have a friend proof-read my blog post before sending it out to my “most excellent” blog-readers.

blogging3blogging2

When I have finished the post and have finally sent it out into the “blog-o-sphere”, my two cats, Tannin and Tulip are very happy, and so am I. You did not see Tulip on the bed when I had all my papers and books spread out on it, but she was sleeping on the small area of the bed that was clear. She is a very good kitty. She has learned not to lie on the papers, which I think is amazing! When I put away all the papers and books from my bed and desk, Tulip finally has “her” bed she lets me borrow all to herself again, until bedtime. Having a clean computer desk also is shockingly pleasant to my rubber “chicken and dressing” who watches me type from behind my printer. Finally, Tannin is also very happy because she again gets to have another “Purrer Nap” on her “soft mattress”.

bed with Tulipphoto (9)

There you have it: “An Anatomy of a Blog Post.” It is now officially nap time.

a nap with Tannin

Pleasant Dreams!

Lydia

* “Men, Women and Biblical Equality” (CBE International, serving God by giftedness, not by gender) [ http://www.cbeinternational.org/files/u1/smwbe/english.pdf ]

The website may not work, so it may be better to “google the title of the paper and where it’s from.

3 thoughts on “An Anatomy of a Blog Post

  1. Lydia, sorry I’m not reading your blog. I almost died Sunday night. I was rushed to the hospital by ambulance. Very large blood clot dislodged and exploded and went to several organs ad caused infarction. I took a big hit. And the cancer has really advanced . God is so in charge. Pray for healing. Love you Lydia

    On May 23, 2014, at 3:44 PM, lydslookonlife wrote:

    WordPress.com lydiag81655 posted: ” (If anyone is not getting the photos on my blog posts, go down to the very bottom of the post and click onto my blog link, below where it says, Trouble clicking?: https://lydslookonlife.wordpress.com etc. It has been said “A picture is worth a thousand”

  2. Hi Lydia, I think the first waterfall photo is Multnoma Falls, about three hours from us. Come visit and we’ll take you there. See you in four weeks.

  3. An attentiongrabbing dialogue is worth comment. I believe that you must write extra on this subject, it won’t be a taboo topic but typically persons are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers bakgkbcdbcfd

Leave a Reply

