Who Am I To Argue?

Grand Canyon

It all started on January 24, 2015. My sister Jane came over to show me something on her cell phone. I thought she had a photo of the new puppy she was getting in a few weeks. Much to my surprise, she was showing me a photo of a 60-inch flat Screen “Smart” TV on a beautiful cabinet stand. She explained that she and her husband Mark and her sons Noel and Luke and his wife Trish and my youngest sister Sophie [in Oregon] all pitched in to get a 60-inch TV for my 60th birthday [which is in August]. It was coming on Thursday [1/29], so that I would have it for the SUPER BOWL [2/1]. I was totally speechless. When I was able to speak, I said, “Jane, this is too much. You don’t have the money to get this stupendous TV with a cabinet besides. My 58-inch [dinosaur] TV is still good.” Jane pointed out that everyone pitched in and they got it with zero percent interest and had a long period of time to pay for it. She also told me the first thing Mark said to the clerk was, ‘Show me the best TV for watching sports.’ So, what better gift to give a sports fan who’s turning 60 than a 60-inch TV?” Jane made a good point there. Who am I to argue? When Mark and Luke set everything up on Thursday and the TV was tuned to ESPN showing the Grand Canyon, all I could say, and repeated several times, was “LOOK AT THAT!” When I came back to earth I thanked Mark and Luke profusely and gave them hugs several times. If my family wanted to give me such an extravagant gift, who am I to argue. [You know what this means? When I have a birthday with the year ending in 0, I’ll have to celebrate the whole year and not just the month, as I usually do.]

chicken wings

Judging from all the SUPER BOWLS I have watched, SUPER BOWL XLIX was the most exciting ever. Yes, the TV made it very special, as did my friends who watched it with me, as well as the phenomenal food [In-VINCE-able pizza, wings with homemade bleu cheese dip, shrimp and home-made cocktail sauce, trees (broccoli) and mud (hot peanut butter dip), sautéed kielbasa, chips, crackers, homemade dips, cake and whipped cream, and the appropriate wines to go with it all]. But the game itself was “sitting-on-the-edge-of-your-seat” exciting for the whole entire game [except for the half-time show]. We had more food than six people could eat during a four-hour period and the excitement was way over the top for me [I was maneuvering the whole time in my recliner, pressing against the back of the chair and moving right to left, as if I were helping the Patriot receivers dodge the defense and run as many yards as possible for the first down, and I grunted and groaned as if I were the one who was tackled]. It was hard work. But, who am I to argue?

Emblem Pats

B Super Bowl 2015

SUPER BOWL XLIX was decided in the last minutes of the forth quarter. In the last minutes of the game, Julian Eldelman [Brady’s nickname for the 5’10” wide receiver is “Micro-tron”] scored the go-ahead touchdown and the Patriot’s led 28 to 24. There were a few minutes left when Skyler Tyreece [Seahawk] made a juggling catch at about the 3-yard-line. Everyone thought the football hit the ground, but it never did. It bounced on Tereece’s body a few times, and then he grabbed it. In the seconds before the next play, I had flashbacks of heart-wrenching sports outcomes. Because two of my friends are Seahawks fans [sort of] and were watching the game with me, I thought of 1986, when I lived in New York state and was watching the 6th game of the World Series with a bunch of Mets fans [I can’t write anymore about it]. I also remembered the Giants vs. Patriots SUPER BOWL when Jermaine Kearse made that “Velcro-helmet” football catch. With Tereece’s fluky [almost miraculous] catch, I said to myself, “Okay. For some reason unknown to me God must want the Seahawks to win. Who am I to argue?” Just when I was wishing I didn’t eat as much as I did, another “miraculous” event took place. Even when all of the Northwest was screaming, “PASS IT TO MARSHON LYNCH!” [Seattle’s “bull-dozer” running back], the Seahawks’ coach had Russell Wilson [quarterback] throw the football instead. New Englanders can totally empathize with Seahawks fans. It must have felt like when all of New England was screaming at the TV in 2003, “TAKE PEDRO OUT OF THE GAME!” Except, this time, New Englanders were ecstatic at Pete Carroll’s decision for Wilson to throw the football, instead of handing it off to Lynch.

A. Super Bowl 2015

With that fatal decision, the unimaginable happened! The Patriot rookie, Malcolm Butler, intercepted the football! After that, the Seahawk were flagged for encroachment, which took Brady out of the end zone.The game was over, except for taking a knee and keeping the football safely cradled in Tom “Terrific” Brady’s capable hands. THE PATRIOTS ARE THE 2014 SUPER BOWL WORLD CHAMPIONS!!!

 

c Super Bowl 2015

It’s hard to understand why Seattle’s coaching staff made the decision they did. It must have made Lynch speechless [but what else is new]. As for me – Who am I to argue? “GET THE DUCK BOATS READY!”

 

gratitude

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” [I Thessalonians 5:16-18 – E.S.V.]

With a Grateful Heart,

Lydia

The LydJesua, heart, sand

Leave a Reply

