It’s Almost Christmas!

lydslookonlife

birthday gifts

What is your response when someone says to you, “It’s almost Christmas!” Most children and a certain brother-in-law I know can’t wait for Christmas to get here, so that they can open their presents under the tree. Most adults like a young father I know might respond, “Christmas! OH KNOW! Where did the time go?” One group is anxiously awaiting to open their gifts. The other group is anxiously buying gifts and worrying that they will not have enough time to finish buying the gifts the need to buy.

baby jesus in manger

Christmas is not suppose to make us franticly running around like chickens without heads, in search of presents that will impress. Christmas is about “peace on earth, good will toward men” [and women and children and animals and the environment]. It’s about spending quality time with family and friends. Christmas is not all about opening the most stupendous gift ever. Christmas…

View original post 862 more words

2 thoughts on “It’s Almost Christmas!

  1. Hi Lydia, I wanted to share with you that Carol Purington’s family lives about a mile or so up the road from my family lived (where my brother and I are living now trying to get the house ready to sell now that both my mom and dad are with the Lord). I’m sorry to say I never knew her very well, but she is the same age as my older sisters and belonged to the same church as my parent’s so they knew her pretty well. Her grandmother, Agnes. was very good friends with our grandmother, who lived with us. All my life I have heard about Carol and how special and talented she is. My parents and sisters have several of her books. I did have the privilege to visit with her when I accompanied my family. All I can say is amazing!
    Regarding your topic, the coming of Christmas, instead of buying each other presents, my family decided a long time ago to spend time together talking on the phone as my sisters and brother have lived all over the U.S, over the yrs. I’ve always loved watching all the Christmas movies since I was young and never thought much about the messages. Lately though (especially this year) I find myself saddened by what this world sees as the “Christmas Spirit”. It breaks my heart how important Santa, etc. has become. Though I’m pleased in a way that many movies have brought back the Christmas Carols, they’re usually used as just background and no real importance is put on what they are all about, Christ. I didn’t mean to write a book. I was just going to drop you a line. Have a very blessed Christmas, Lydia. Thank you so much for your special blog. Love in Him, Anne

Leave a Reply

